Image

THRU THE YEARS

THRU THE YEARS

Thru the years of my life I have fought to survive and be strong. My parents were told to prepare my funeral at the age of 18 months….That didn’t happen.

Growing up I was a normal child doing normal things that all children do. I was very athletic and in very good shape. I started cheerleading when I was 4 and self taught myself gymnastics until I was in high school then I started taking lessons.

At 22 my daughter was 6 months old and my son was 4 years old, I was diagnosed with Thyroid cancer and by the time of the diagnosis it had already spread into my lymph nodes. I had to go thru a radical neck surgery that lasted over 7-1/2 hours then I went thru treatment. During this time period between the pregnancy and the cancer I had put on more than 140 lbs. At the age of 30 I was diagnosed again with another form of cancer but I never let it stop me or get me down.

Fast forward to September 15, 2009….This is the day that once again my life could have ended but did not. I was swept out in to the ocean by a rip tide and I weighed in at a whopping 277lbs. It was on this day that it really hit me that I had a purpose in life. My life had not been spared not once but 4 times and that was because I was meant to do something more.

January 25, 2010 is when my weight loss journey began. This journey has been a long one with many ups and downs. I have to say the ups are greater then the downs. I have lost more than 80 lbs…I became a Boot Camp Instructor as well as a Group Fitness Instructor and Personal Trainer… I left a great paying job with awesome benefits and I opened a Fitness Studio which now I have down sized to a small group training studio…I have gone thru a divorce after almost 26 years of marriage…I am back to looking for a full time job and am only training at night.

One thing still stands with me though and that is I know my purpose in Life is to help others who are walking in the shoes I have once walked. My purpose is to show people that Life is worth Living! Live if a Gift and we must take in every single moment of every single day and live it with great respect and a positive attitude.

One thought on “THRU THE YEARS

Leave a Reply

