It’s the Finish That Counts

Today was another great training run for the marathon relay.  I am truly Blessed to have such a special group of team members.  My daughter Kayla who makes running look so easy.  She Cheers me on every time we cross paths during our training.  My cool and ever so funny friend Laura Johnson who runs with great ease and grace.  My best friend Melinda Watson who has dropped 100 lbs and is doing an outstanding job on the training runs.  Then you have me, I run at a snails pace but non the less I am running.  I am reaching for my goal of finishing this Relay and marking yet another item off my bucket list.

This does not come easy to me.  I have to be very careful with my knees so I am taking the training approach very seriously.  I cannot run like anyone else but myself.  Currently I am walking 4 minutes and running 1 minute and 15 seconds.  I do this interval 9 times and next week I will increase my run time and decrease my walk time. After the training I make sure to stretch for a good 20 to 25 minutes.  Stretching is the best part!

I am very thankful that these 3 beautiful ladies have agreed to take this goal of mine on with me. I couldn’t ask for any better!  ONE STEP AT A TIME!  It’s not about how fast I run but instead it’s that

image

I finish! 🏃👟✔🙌

One thought on “It’s the Finish That Counts

Leave a Reply

